More than half of the UK population doesn't accept climate change is man-made

Watch
cybergrad
Badges: 2
Report Thread starter 11 years ago
Hi people, I need your opinions on this. I am doing a PhD on energy generation and how it affects the environment. I would like to know what the youth of today thinks about this. I know there are similar posts on TSR but they are a few years old.
Dark-Myth
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 11 years ago
I think it is happening, however this needs to be taken with a pinch of salt. My old chemistry teacher didn't believe in global warming because a volcanic eruption can cool down the planet about 2 degrees, and my physics teacher said that after 9/11 in america, the planes weren't allowed to fly and they discovered that temperature dropped in US. In general studies at my current school, my teacher pointed out that the hockey stick graph used by Al-Gore is wrong. The logarithms used by the guy he employed to produce that graph will produce that graph no matter what is put in.
L i b
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 11 years ago
Guess what - another quarter don't give a toss whether it is or not, myself included.
s33
Rep:
?
Report 11 years ago
Because...it's not manmade and the government is just supporting any research that suggests otherwise?
Smeee
Rep:
?
Report 11 years ago
I'm going to be honest and admit to being someone who struggles to care about climate change. By this I mean that I don't really take any action to try and "reduce my carbon footprint". This is probably down to my general apathy about much in life. I accept that climate change has been worsened by mankind but it's not exclusively caused by us. I don't think that's what your thread title means though? (Or is it?)