Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I'm an American student applying to Oxford. I know that British schools normally make conditional offers to people but I was wondering if anyone knows what type of conditions they put on offers to American students since we don't have the same exam system. Thanks a lot.

ReputationRep:
    Does anyone know a North American at Oxford or are there any North Americans at Oxford who remember what sort of conditional offers they got?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Houyhnhnm)
    I'm an American student applying to Oxford. I know that British schools normally make conditional offers to people but I was wondering if anyone knows what type of conditions they put on offers to American students since we don't have the same exam system. Thanks a lot.
    They'll give you conditional offers for the SATs and APs. Eg. My friend applied for Law @ Leicester and he was told to get 600+ in SAT IIs and 600 in both sections of SAT I.

ReputationRep:

Though there are no formal requirements, successful candidates would generally have an excellent High School record, supplemented by:

Scores of at least 700 in Verbal and 700 in Math in SAT I (or 1400+ combined) (Or ACT with a score of at least 32 out of 36)

We would also expect:

SAT II in a good spread of three or four subjects at 700 or better;
    Or, preferably, grades 4 or 5 in two or more Advanced Placement tests in appropriate subjects
    Alternatively, a mixture of SAT II and Advanced Placement scores; both should be at the levels indicated above.

Another page on the site talks about conditional offers, though does not specify which qualifications.

ReputationRep:
    Thanks.

I was afraid that they might be looking for something else.

I already have 700+ in verbal and math SAT I, and three 700+ SAT II, and the APs. If I where accepted would I get an unconditional offer since I've already taken the tests or might it still be conditional on unstandard school grades?