Turn on thread page Beta

Does your school/college/university have a student paper? watch

ReputationRep:
    Hallo all.

I'm a mature student at Ruskin College in Oxford (see http://www.ruskin.ac.uk to save me having to explain) and hope to go off to uni next year to read law.

Out of boredom I decided that what the College needed was a student paper of some kind, so I got together a gang of people and formed the Student Publication Society. The aim is to produce a publication (rather than something which is a newspaper, magazine or any other name which can lead to false hopes over what is really just a bunch of photocopied stapled bits of paper!) at least three times a term. It would contain only what other people could be bothered to write - Ruskin College is VERY left wing and full of political activists who love to talk but, sadly, seem to be capable of sod all. My method means that anyone who says "But Alexander, why don't you have more current affairs stuff?" can be told to go bloody well write it and it will go in the next issue. Mwahahaha.

Have a look for yourself - http://www.apathy.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/December2003.pdf It's about 5.5mb.

Any comments would be welcome, mostly over layout and stuff. Also anyone who is involved in a similar project at their own place would be most welcome to show me some of their stuff, assuming it is available online. It has a fairly wide range of content, which is just because that is what people wrote for the first issue.

Thanks in advance!

a.

ReputationRep:
    Salford has Student Direct, the biggest student newspaper in europe. There is the Manchester, Salford and Bolton editions.

ReputationRep:
    Birmingham has Redbrick.

ReputationRep:
    It's really good, nice job!
    • Very Important Poster
    • PS Reviewer

ReputationRep:
    Very Important Poster
    PS Reviewer