Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Not sure how to set this out without it seeming like I've done nothing since I finished uni - all I've done is work part time in a bar since I finished and had a long succession of short term temping jobs, all non teacher related and non degree related. I have been unsuccessful in securing school based work experience. Any pointers on what to put in and how to set this out would be appreciated, I'm not really good at creative writing.

ReputationRep:
    Guess this is a no brainer then.

ReputationRep:
    Ok, I've given it a crack, and this is what I've come up with past hour or so. Would appreciate any comments and criticism, and possible additions, thanks. Also posted in the "Teachers" forum, so my apologies if posting twice has violated any protocol.

I have one goal for my teaching – helping students to think and learn for themselves. This goal is as simple as it is illusive. The more experience I have as a teacher, the more I understand that there is no one-way of achieving my aim. Clearly, the proper focus of education is learning, not teaching, but I know that it is within a teacher’s power – and thus it is the teacher’s responsibility – to create the conditions necessary to allow students to learn. How best to create these conditions is the question… (needs more?)

Education has always been an important value in my house, especially since my mother was a secondary school teacher for many years, and now teaches computer courses with LearnDirect. I always took learning seriously, and then in secondary school and at university I realised that I enjoyed helping others learn as well. Part of my decision to become a future teacher is owed to my brother and sister (I have more than one of each but one is too young and the others live away – do I need to change this?) who I help with their science homework.