Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I'm an American student who is looking to study Media/Politics at LSE this coming fall. I am working on my personal statement now and I am at a loss about whether or not I can be passionate and opinionated in my essay. A lot of advice I have read leads me to believe this is the norm and will help me stand out, but being that I can be overly zealous at times, I just don't want to scare the reviewers. Does anyone have any advice about how much passion is too much passion?

Thanks!

ReputationRep:
    Three inches of passion is the absolute maximum.
    Seriously, why not post your PS or PM it to law people, and they can suggest that you tone it either up or down? It's hard to give helpful hypothetical advice. I would say try not to be too opinionated - you don't want to scare them off! Passion is good, but don't overdo it and make it sound cheesy and desperate.

ReputationRep:
    I tend to agree.... be passionate, but at the same time keep in mind what you are writing and try and control yourself. Once you have gotten a couple of drafts down get a billion people to read it and give their opinions, and they can tell you to tone it up or down.

ReputationRep:
    you do need to stand out, but that doesn't necessarily mean cranking up the passion. just write honestly and let your personality show through - surely there are some things that you have strong opinions on? you don't need to make big poweful statements - you just have to prove that you are interested in your subject, have thoughts about it and are able to express them.