Turn on thread page Beta

books watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    i guess im new to reading, i never enjoyed it as a child but i recently picked up "The Godfather" and seriously couldnt put it down. i guess its just down to taste of genre, so im asking if people could put suggestions down to good books. i love good snappy story lines, not overly complicated language and im a romantic at heart

thanks in advance

ReputationRep:
    catcher in the rye.

ReputationRep:
    thanks

any more people?

ReputationRep:
    I loved To Kill a Mockingbird.

ReputationRep:
    yeah definitely. its the only book we were forced to read at school, that i loved.

ReputationRep:
    maybe you can get an idea from this http://www.uk-learning.net/showthread.php?t=18999

ReputationRep:
    Anne of Green Gables is a great book

ReputationRep:
    For a book of short stories, give I, Robot - Isaac Asimov a look, in fact any of his robot series are top class

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by DevilsDoor)
    For a book of short stories, give I, Robot - Isaac Asimov a look, in fact any of his robot series are top class
    They certainly are. Also, Robert Ludlum's 'The Bourne Identity' was pretty good.

ReputationRep:
    Any Tim Powers book, The Anubis Gates, Declare, On Stranger Tides, The Drawing of the Dark,etc.

The Castle by Franz Kafka.
    Murderers in the Rue Morgue by Edgar Allan Poe.
    The man who was Thursday, The Wisdmon of Father Brown, The Innocence of father Brown by Gill Keith Chesterton.
    The Count of Montecristo by Alexandre Dumas.
    Red and Black by Stendhal.

Anything wrote by Friedrich Nietzsche ('On the Genealogy of Morality' specially)

Post Office by Charles Bukowski.

ReputationRep:
    Try Catch 22.

Classic.

x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x

ReputationRep:
    Of Mice and Men (John Steinbeck) is one of the most complete novels ever published.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Tek)