Turn on thread page Beta

University degree or training straight after completing A-Levels? watch

ReputationRep:
    Right okay, I know that this subject has been talked about a lot, as I have been researching before posting. But none of the topics really relate totally to my situation.

I'm in sixth form at the moment in Year 12 and I finish in 18 months. I'm studying Business, English Literature and Finance. (Also planning on taking up Maths as an AS in Year 13 too; I dropped it this year because I got all stressed with personal issues). My business course is a BTEC Award and my Finance is an IFS (Institute of Financial Services) course but both are equivalent to AS and A Levels and carry the same UCAS Tariff points. My predicted grades are high, like a Distinction for Business and A-B's for the rest. I'm also doing an IAB computerised accounts level 2 course at college on one evening a week.

I've always been interested in Accountancy and I'm sure that's what I want to do. However, I'm completely confused by all the talk of whether to go for a degree then train to be an accountant or go straight into training for ACCA, CIMA etc etc straight after A-Levels with a 'Big Four' company. My Dad's forever like 'No, you have to go to University to get a degree, that's the only way you're ever going to be successful' - but I think he's a little ignorant to the fact that there's more options around nowadays.

I always thought I wanted to go for Management Accountancy due to my interest with business and economics, but since doing my college course dealing with figures has appealed to me, so now I'm open to all accountancy sectors.

So, has anyone ever been in this situation, or one similar? And what did you decide to do? Do you think your decision was for the best? Also, help on how difficult it is to get sponsored in a Big Four company would help a great deal too