Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Taking IGCSEs... Can I apply for community college in america after i take my exams? watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    So I'm studying in year 10, IGCSEs, and I was wondering if after I take my subject exams, I can apply for a community college in America.

Can I?

EDIT:

I was born in America!

ReputationRep:
    I don't think so because technically if you don't go on to a sixth form college you wont have the equivalent of a high school education. American children leave high school at 17/18 years old and go onto college. Not to mention community colleges in america aren't ranked very highly (has an american fiance) and it costs alot of money for an education there and even more so for housing etc as community colleges aren't usually like a normal college as they are mainly for mature students who are looking into getting back into education or students who haven't done very well on exams. They usually don't provide dorms/housing. You will need to be able to 100% support yourself with any costs throughout your stay to even be considerd for immigration and you have to prove that you will leave at the end of your course. It is definitly not a walk in the park I'm afraid I have first hand experience on that matter. Also there is very little financial aid for foreign nationals to study in the US. I would honestly recommend you continue your education in the UK and when you get to University look for programs to be an exchange student in the US.

ReputationRep:
    Why on *earth* would you? Do your A levels or an IB programme or something. You usually need to be either a high school graduate, or 18 or older, to go to a community college. Why are you so desperate to go to an American community college?