Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Well, ok to be fair my lectures are one hour 50mins long, but I have the attention span of a small child. I'd say I have good attention for the first 15mins, then after 25 I'm completely out of it. My current lecture format is:

-60mins
    -5min break
    -50mins

Lecture style is pretty much non-stop talking on behalf of the lecturer, no questions, just information-overload. Other people have questioned the department but the response is always "there is too much to cover".

I've tried all the "dynamic note taking" techniques and read several books on effective studying but i just can't make it work. I suppose it doesn't help that my degree is law, which no lecturer can seem to make vaguely interesting (I know, i know, im doing the wrong degree).

What can I do short of taking black market ritalin? (joke).

ReputationRep:
    When I start back I have triple lectures! eurgh.

I'll tell you when I find out, only single lectures until now.

ReputationRep:
    You're taking the wrong degree then!!!
    Nah, seriously though, lectures do get pretty boring sometimes. My only suggestion is to sit right at the front. That way, you'll have no choice but to concentrate...

ReputationRep:
    2 hour seminars are much worse - you actually have to pay attention 100% of the time incase they ask you things, bad times.

ReputationRep:
    I don't, hence when exam time comes (ie now) i am ****** lol

although on the odd occasions when i do, lots and lots of caffeine is the key

ReputationRep:
    Give your friends a dictaphone on your behalf, and stay in bed.

ReputationRep:
    Try 4 hour lectures.
    They are painful.
    I have such a short attention span as well, I can't concentrate after 30 minutes.
    I usually fall asleep then at the end of the lecture wonder what they're going on about.