Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I'm currently in my first year and not enjoying the course at all - it sucks.
    I have no idea what I want to do career wise and if I leave I have no idea what I would do. I would have to get a job but I think that could be worse than staying here, ie. more hours of work, less lie ins and holiday time
    The only reason I would stay is that a degree would give me more options for jobs in the future
    HELP!

ReputationRep:
    I think you should stay, at least the whole year since you are paying for it. Then maybe change uni or course, or maybe take a gap year to figure out what you want to do.

ReputationRep:
    Where are you and what are you doing?

ReputationRep:
    My problem with the idea of a gap year is that I could never see myself wanting to come back to this as I'd always be thinking about why I left in the first place.

ReputationRep:
    I'm at Sussex doing Economics BA

ReputationRep:
    You ought to stick it out for the first year, at least. Or see if you can switch courses (if you manage to think of something better that you'd like to do). It's not a good idea to drop out with no back-up plan and no idea what else you'd like to do. Plus, it's generally harder to get anywhere without a degree Good luck. x

ReputationRep:
    bump it up

ReputationRep:
    What do you want to do? Do what would make you happy.

ReputationRep:
    stick it out
    you know it will be worth it in the long run

ReputationRep:
    I don't think it's worth sticking it out for too long if you know deep down that you will leave. But it all depends on how you feel. Are you unhappy with the course, the university, or university life in general?