Turn on thread page Beta

Homesick and lonely watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    I'm in my second year and incredibly homesick. I just got back to uni today and already i've been in a right state. Has anyone else felt like this and how did you cope? My flatmates never want to do anything, not even eat dinner together, and often I have complete days with no lectures. My life seems to be work and nothing else, yet at home I have loads of friends. I have got to the stage where I associate being in my room with feeling this bad and I panic whenever I have to spend a day/evening in. Each hour seems to crawl and all I do is sit around on the internet and feel depressed / panicy things will never get better. Any advice please

ReputationRep:
    Hey, i'm only in my first year- but since coming back for the second term I have felt similar.
    I have just planned my visits home this term already- So I have something to look forward too.
    Did you feel like this in your first year? Or is it something new...?
    Just try and stay strong- but overall do what is right for you, and if that means transferring to a uni closer to home then go for it.
    Your grades will suffer i'm sure if you aren't happy.

ReputationRep:
    Did you feel like this last year?
    Try to sit next to new people in lectures and do your best to get to know them - you'll end up with new friends sooner than you think! Perhaps you could join a club or society? That way you will meet new people and have somewhere to go to.
    I really hope you'll feel better soon.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by mouseinahouse)
    I have got to the stage where I associate being in my room with feeling this bad and I panic whenever I have to spend a day/evening in.
    This worries me. If you leave this alone you could start having serious panic attacks, I would firstly suggest seeing someone so they can help you disassociate your room from bad feelings.