Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi! ^_^
    Okay, so I'm starting English Literature A Level next year and the exam board my school uses is OCR. (But even if you used a different exam board, do tell which texts you studied as I assume they might be similar?)

If anyone here took that A Level, could you let me know which texts I am likely to study? I'm eager to start doing some reading to get a headstart.. (mainly because I have nothing to read at the moment!)

Thanks

ReputationRep:
    I'd check the OCR website, they will be more reliable than me; I'm not sure whether the same texts are on the syllabus for each year.
    I studied:
    Wuthering Heights (exam)
    Robert Frost (exam)
    TS Eliot (course work)
    God of Small Things, Knowledge of Angels (course work comparing the two)
    That was at AS

The Winter's Tale (exam)
    The Duchess of Malfi and John Donne (exam, comparing the two)
    The Catcher in the Rye, The Color Purple, Lawrence Ferlinghetti (coursework, comparing the three)

And that is for A2, which I'm doing at the moment.

English is fun fun fun

ReputationRep:
    I'm doing OCR. Last year for the exam we studied Wuthering Heights and poems by Robert Frost, now we're doing Dr Faustus and Chaucer. For coursework I think the teachers just choose whatever they want, so if you want a headstart I suggest reading the classics - Bronte, Austen, maybe some George Orwell, anything good basically, even if you don't study them they will help you.

ReputationRep:
    I do OCR, for AS I studied:
    Wide Sargasso Sea w/ Carol Ann Duffy poems (coursework)
    A Streetcar Named Desire (coursework)
    Wilfred Owen (exam)
    The Great Gatsby (exam)

Now for A2, I'm studying:
    Othello (exam)
    The Rover w/ poems (Maybe John Dunne, not sure yet) - (exam)
    T.S. Eliot poems, Mrs. Dalloway & A Farewell To Arms (c/w)

But look here for all the options

ReputationRep:
    No idea what board I am but so far we've studied: