Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

A few questions about training to be a paramedic watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hey guys, I'd really like to join the ambulance service.

I heard the 'old way' of working your way up now has gone and I need to get a paramedic science degree. I'm studying Biology, Chemistry and Psychology A Levels.

I got a drivers licence but I need a C1 and D1 drivers licence. Any idea how much roughly they cost? I heard it goes into £1,000+, is that true?

Anyone had a 'ride out' on an ambulance? How did you arrange it?

I know I need to do a fitness test, just how 'fit' do you need to be for this test?

Basically I'm looking for any help or tips to get me to where I want to be.

Any advice or help will be muchly appreciated.
    • PS Helper

ReputationRep:
    PS Helper
    (Original post by SpottySocks)
    Hey guys, I'd really like to join the ambulance service.

I heard the 'old way' of working your way up now has gone and I need to get a paramedic science degree. I'm studying Biology, Chemistry and Psychology A Levels.

I got a drivers licence but I need a C1 and D1 drivers licence. Any idea how much roughly they cost? I heard it goes into £1,000+, is that true?

Anyone had a 'ride out' on an ambulance? How did you arrange it?

I know I need to do a fitness test, just how 'fit' do you need to be for this test?

Basically I'm looking for any help or tips to get me to where I want to be.

Any advice or help will be muchly appreciated.
    Old way has changed not gone out all together. Instead you now either do it through university or by becoming employed as a student paramedic through a trust.

You only need C1 in England which can cost up to £1000 obviously will cost more if you have to retake. D1 is only required in Wales and Scotland and Scotland only do trust run paramedic courses.