Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Is there any point in continuing when you don't want that type of job? watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Basically, I'm currently in my first year of a four year sandwich course in Computer Forensics at Uni. I love the city I'm in, but I'm not really enjoying the course as I thought I would. And I don't think Computer Forensics is the kind of job I want - in fact, I don't think I want in IT at all. So I've been thinking a lot about dropping out.

HOWEVER, I can't shake the feeling that I might be about to make the most stupid mistake of my life.

If I dropped out, I doubt I'd want to go back to Uni. I've thought about other courses but nothing grabs me and makes me think "Wow, I really want to do that".

So I've been thinking about trying to get a full time job and trying my hand at screenwriting. It's something I enjoy doing, and I feel I could be really good at it. I'm not sure yet whether I would try and take some sort of course in it or not yet, but that's something I should think about.

Also, my halls are owned by UNITE, not the uni, and my contract is for the whole - so I'll almost certainly have to keep paying it for the rest of the contact.

When I had these thoughts before I tried to push them out of my mind, and thus I'm already trapped in the process of sorting out a house for next year. The deposit has been paid, although no contract has been signed (yet) and I fear what my housemates for next year will think if I tell them I'm pulling out, especially at this stage - as we will have to sign the contact around feb/march time. I would consider living with them anyway next year if I had to, but I don't know if it would be possible as I wouldn't be a student.

I'm also concerned about all the financial implications of dropping out at this stage.