Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I'm currently in my first year of a Law LLB at Leicester University. The real aspiration for taking law was to become a barrister and I'm just wondering what the opinions are on the chances of a Leciester graduate become one. I have no problem working for a 1st and I understand that is exactly what I need to do, but at the same time if it is going to be an unreachable challenge to fulfill then I would like to know.

ReputationRep:
    Nothing is ever unreachable... sure maybe a better uni would have given you a better chance, BUT it all comes down to you as a person.. dosent matter were you went just as long as you are good at your job!

ReputationRep:
    I can accept that it true to some degree. However, who am I to stop them throwing my application for a pupillage in the bin before they have even met me because im from a lower ranked uni than they would like, or have applicants from?

ReputationRep:
    Leicester is a great Uni for Law and they have some really strong contacts with different chambers in the East Midlands and also in the City. I don't know where the conception that Leicester is a 'lower ranked uni' came from! :-/

Make sure you do some Mooting, debating, client interviewing and get some informal work experience as well as getting good grades.

I am graduating this year and going on to complete a TC with a top City firm, so Leicester is definately a plus rather than a negative to have on your CV! xx

ReputationRep:
    Read the leaflet "its your call" from the bar website.

So long as you apply to sets that have recen tennents from non-oxbridge unis, have good academics and great ecs and pro bono you should get at least the odd interview. Then its how you do at int/who else you are competing against.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by VitaminB12)