Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

My self harm is getting out of control. Help? watch

Announcements

Can I please stress that I don't do it for attention, nor does anybody else know about it.

Basically, I've been doing it for a few months now, in varying degrees of depth/etc. I thought it was 'ok' until today, I thought I could always control when I did it, but today I couldn't. I ran out of my english class and went to the toilet and did it. I was so close to confiding in my teacher but I don't want my mom to know. I'm 17 and in sixth form, would my teacher be obliged to report it if I told her?

I don't have any other ways to cope at the moment. Does anybody have any experiences as to how they managed to stop?

Thanks in advance.

I used to... I ended up seeing a psychiatrist and a psychologist and finally managed to stop by addressing the problem that was causing my depression... it took a long time and a lot of help, (I was in a pretty bad way) and I had to move city and everything...
    I would say stopping is entirely personal and I couldn't advise you at all.
    Maybe it would be a good thing for your mum to know ... my parents knew and my dad helped me massively. It entirely depends on how your mum would react.
    I got found out at school. And they legally had to tell my parents. It wasn't ideal.

I was a self harmer for around 6 years, for me tackling the root cause of why I self harmed, my anorexia, helped me break the cycle. I go to ACT therapy every week, I would still be considered very much anorexic, although the self harm has subsided. Although it's relatively early days some part of me is confident it will finally help. Perhaps you might consider a similar strategy - when you feel confident enough to share you feeling perhaps make an appointment to see your GP, preferrably one you like or find to be sympathetic and maybe ask for a counselling referral.