Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

What to ask when buying a car? watch

ReputationRep:
    Im a girl and dont really have a man in my life who knows much about cars, and i dont know much either
    but with passing my test im wanting to buy a car either from a garage or someone selling one from home.
    im trying to compile a list of questions to ask when going to look at the car, and what are the general things i should look at/ listen out for when viewing a car?

ReputationRep:
    How many miles has it had? How many owners? Has it had any repairs done? Rust problems? Also, check that all the lights including the indicators work and test the washers. Check that the paperwork is complete.
    I'm not good at viewing cars either :dontknow:

Edit: Have you decided which car you want to look at yet?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by whitepearlbaby)
    How many miles has it had? How many owners? Has it had any repairs done? Rust problems? Also, check that all the lights including the indicators work and test the washers. Check that the paperwork is complete.
    I'm not good at viewing cars either :dontknow:

Edit: Have you decided which car you want to look at yet?
    Im looking at Ford Ka's havent started viewing them properly yet, dont want to go and make myself look like an idiot not knowing anything about cars!

ReputationRep:
    You can ask the AA to come and do a vehicle inspection, it costs a bit but it could be worth it if you really don't know anything.

ReputationRep:
    You should listen to it running, listen for any abnormal noises such as knocking etc (take a test drive if at all possible, if not get the owner to drive it with you in and keep a close eye on how the car handles and sounds. This is important).

Take a look in the radiator after it's been for a drive (check for oily water/mayonnaisey substance which would point to a cylinder head gasket failure).