Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Uni 1st year watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    So basically I'm in my first year, and semester A has just finished.. I have had the most horrible few months, mostly because of me moving out from home and living in a student house with absolute maniacs.. Anyways the point being, I have screwed up Semester A, in which I had 4 modules from which only 1 I would have passed, and the others, I failed to complete courseworks...

I want to completely change everything in Semester B, but how can I pass the first year now? I'm willing to work as hard as I have to in order to pass my first year. Can I resit the courseworks from the 3 modules or what?

How will I pass?

It depends on your uni and I think you need to talk to them...

I'm in a similar situation - although for different reasons - and so far, this term has been a lot better - having said that, it's still the first week!

It's always possible to change though - catch up with the readings, email your lecturers from last term and see what you can do (if there's the potential to resit or whatever) and make a plan for meeting deadlines that are coming up...

If your living conditions affected you that much, perhaps think about applying for extenuating circumstances? Again, it depends on your uni's policy, but if you can prove that your work was affected through no fault of your own, you should qualify.

And good luck

ReputationRep:
    Why weren't you able to complete the course work?

ReputationRep:
    but through extenuating circumstances, all your marks are capped at 40% right?

Not to my knowledge? In fact I ******* hope not! I think they take your actual grade and add on up to 5% (ish), depending on what they deem is acceptable.

If you score over 40%, and you've got extenuating circumstances, they can't take marks off! That doesn't make any sense?

ReputationRep: