Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Fees and Funding for International Students Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi, this is my first time using this forum. I needed a bit of advice and I thought other students could help me out?

I'm an overseas student in my 3rd year doing medicine. I have 3 more years to go in the course but I'm worried about how my parents and I are going to pay for the next few years. I know there's this stereotype that all international students are loaded, and I'm not going to dispute that because it's true for most. Unfortunately, with fees rising to £29,600 in my course next year, I'm getting worried that I may have to drop out after this year because my parents are having troubles paying these fees, especially since my dad has to retire soon.

I have already been to the funding office of my uni to ask if I could change my status from overseas to home status (which I assumed I could since I am a British citizen and will have lived here for 3 years when I start next year's course). They said I wouldn't be able to because I hadn't lived here for 3 years before the start of my course and it would be hard to prove that I wasn't in the UK just for study. However, I've heard that others have successfully changed status.

I'm also looking for any scholarships, but my country of residence before I came here don't offer any scholarships for medical students.

I won't be applicable for grant since my parents earn over the limit. Loans barely scrape the surface of the amount of money I need help with.

So after that very long explanation, my questions are there:

1) Have any of you successfully changed status from international to home during your course? How?

2) What are the best ways to get loans to pay off £29,600 a year? I will pay it off the rest of my life just as long as I get to finish this course!

3) Is it possible to transfer to another university for my clinical years just to get home status?