Turn on thread page Beta

Ear Tunnels.. I want to get one done... watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi Guys,
    As the above title suggests I want to get an ear tunnel done but I dont know how to go about it. I'm a newbie to all this ear tunnel stuff. :o:

I don't know all the measurement stuff but I don't want it to be too big just so that you can see through it.

I already have my ears pierced so whats the next step?

Sorry for my really vague post too :o:

ReputationRep:
    You don't really 'get them done' as such, it's a very slow process. The simplest way would be to use tapers, like so; http://www.bodyartforms.com/productd...=4563&index=14. Assuming you have a standard ear piercing at the minute, you would want to start out by using a 1.2mm (16g) taper to increase the size to.. well, 1.2mm. You then pop your chosen 1.2mm jewellery in, and there we go. Obviously you're not going to want to stop at 1.2mm though, but it's so very important to let it heal before you bother stretching up to the next size. The recommended healing time is 8 weeks, but to be fair everybody will heal at a different rate, and I'm personally finding my ears to be okay after around a month to stretch up again. The next size up after 1.2mm would be 1.6mm (14g). Again, the same process, and this will continue until you reach your desired gauge.

Scroll down on THIS page a little, and there's a gauge/mm chart - these being the size increments you should work up in to help to avoid stretching related disasters (eg, blowouts). As a point of reference, 2mm/6g is generally considered the 'point of no return', any further than which the piercing is unlikely to shrink back to it's original size.