The Student Room Group

Help with A Level choices

I'm going to be doing my GCSEs this year, and we have to pick our A Level subjects by the end of this month.

I've already picked three of them, but I'm a bit confused on my fourth one.

The three I've already picked are:

Biology
Chemistry
Maths

For the fourth option, I'm stuck between Psychology and Physics.

I read some stuff about the things you learn in Psychology at A Level, and it sounds very interesting. I've never done it before though, so I might end up being very bad at it, and getting a low grade.

I was also thinking about Physics because I've heard that it's very useful - more useful than Psychology. I'm also pretty good at it, and I've been getting some good grades so far in it.

I'm not interested in doing Psychology at University, so a lot of people have been telling me to do Physics at A Level instead. The only problem is that I cannot stand Physics. I hate it, but I'm good at it, and it's supposed to be useful, so I'm not sure if I should choose it as my fourth option instead of Psychology.

I'm interested in studying some sort of science at University later on, like Biochemistry, which is why a lot of people have told me that Physics will be more useful than Psychology. I was originally thinking about going for medicine, but then I realised I wasn't smart enough.

I was wondering if there's anyone here who does Psychology at A Level who could tell me what it's like? Is it interesting, or is it very hard? Is it difficult to achieve an A in it?

And would I be better off studying Physics at A Level even though I hate it, or does it really not matter if I don't do it for A Level?
Would it make much of a difference if I decided to go for Psychology instead?

Thanks, hope you bothered to read all of that. :o:
Reply 1