Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi All,

I spent 2 years @ uni a couple of years ago but had to leave the course early due to personal circumstances. I have now applied for next year (2010/2011) term.

I rang up student finance and they basically said I can't get my tuition fees paid for the first 2 years because I had them paid when I studied last. The lady @ SF said something about trying to transfer as it isnt actually down that I have left.

If anyone has any info/past experience how I can go about getting a loan or tuition fee loan paid, your help would be appreciated.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by kingjayson1)
    Hi All,

I spent 2 years @ uni a couple of years ago but had to leave the course early due to personal circumstances. I have now applied for next year (2010/2011) term.

I rang up student finance and they basically said I can't get my tuition fees paid for the first 2 years because I had them paid when I studied last. The lady @ SF said something about trying to transfer as it isnt actually down that I have left.

If anyone has any info/past experience how I can go about getting a loan or tuition fee loan paid, your help would be appreciated.
    Its like the lady said - you cant have finance for years you have already completed. You could try applying with extenuating circumstances but I dont think there is a 'loophole' for that..

ReputationRep:
    Ring your LEA and ask them for advice as it sounds like you are still with them on the system

They should be able to advise you if your personal circumstances would entitle you to an additional year of support due to 'compelling personal reasons'

ReputationRep:
    Yep, neo is right - try ringing your local council first.

http://www.studentfinance.direct.gov..._schema=PORTAL