Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Well guys I know you have probably seen and heard this a million times before, I have searched and had a read around but would really like some advice.

I'm in my first year of my degree and sent of my student finance application in June 2009, I received my loan on time (I know I am lucky compared to some) but still have received no maintenance grant. The forms I sent off in June were filled out incorrectly and I was not informed of this until I contacted THEM when I received my notice of entitlement. I then requested new forms and they were sent back off at the beginning of October. At this point I was told it would take another 6 weeks, I waited for 6 weeks and phoned again and kept being told 'another couple of weeks' until the beginning of December, at which point my parents received a phone call informing them that the application was being processed (9/12 I believe). A week later I phoned to check the progress and they said they needed a letter explaining why my mother's income was marked in as 0, which was not requested at all in the application. This was sent off the day they told me I needed one and they said it should come a couple of weeks after Christmas.

At New Year I sent off a complaint, following the procedure on the direct.gov website and it promised to get back to me within 10 days, still no reply. I find it very hard to belive that they are so happy to put people in this position. My family contains 4 children, and my dad's income is only £26k p/a so it is very hard for my parents to contribute- and quite frankly I don't expect them to- yet I am living off of my part time job wage, where I only work 9 hours a week.