Turn on thread page Beta

Hmm which graphical calculator to buy? watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hiya,

Could use some help. I'm looking to buy a graphical calculator (I'm studying A level and would like something better than my fx-83ES) and it's gonna be one of these three models (or any other suggestions :-P) (oh and it can't have CAS!):

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Texas-Instru...3858186&sr=8-1 (£40)

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Texas-Instru...pd_cp_office_1 (£75)

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Ryman-FX-975...sr=8-3-catcorr (£49)

Which one do you think is the superior model. Would it be better to stick to a cheap TI model because of their world-wide use (and if so - which TI model the 82 or 83 plus) or use the Casio model which has the advantages of USB hookup.

Any help is appreciated

ReputationRep:
    I've come to the conclusion that graphical calculators are a waste of money. They're unnecessary and provide no advantage at A level, and if you do Maths at University you certainly won't be able to use it (if you're even allowed to use a calculator at all... at my University even the simplest calculators were prohibited in all exams).

Even if you get to an advanced enough level where you want generated graphs, you'll use mathematical software (such as Maple or Mathematica) to do it, so your calculator will be redundant.

So my suggestion would be to use your money for something worthwhile!

ReputationRep:
    [QUOTE=Chwirkytheappleboy]I've come to the conclusion that graphical calculators are a waste of money. /QUOTE]

I agree, but they're still cool and useful at times. I've got te fx-9750ga plus (bought it off eBay us new for £20 incl delivery). I just love watching it sketch polar equations. I know that's sounds nerdy but it gives u something to do in a borring maths lesson.

I'm very happy with my calculator. If the one quotes above is similar I would recommend it.

ReputationRep: