Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi all!

I am in a bit of a stressful ongoing dilemma at the moment and it's making me very, very depressed.

I graduated in 2008 with a BA (Hons) degree in Graphic Design after studying full time in school, college and university consecutively. Whilst studying, I relied on my loans to get by, and for most of my time in uni I worked part time. My ultimate goal after uni, my dream, was to have my own Graphic Design studio, and I've read about many entrepreneurs and freelancers who have done this and may not have the best pay, but get by absolutely fine and enjoy their career. However, ideally, I felt that I needed to find a job in somewhere like London to gain some experience first, so I was luckily invited to work for a month as a designer in London. Unfortunately, it actually cost more to live than what I was earning or could earn, and in a 'horrible' bedsit, and so I had no choice but to leave London behind and go back home to Wales.

For a while I struggled to find a suitable job back home; rarely will a graphic design job pop up in Wales. I realised as I was losing more and more money that I had to go for any job, and I actually found one which I thought was great, working at a computer store, retailing the hardware and software which I was taught in, great, not perfect but fine for now.

Well it's been well over a year and I'm still working there. And I'll be honest, I hate it. At first I enjoyed it, but now I not only know that I'm not going anywhere with my skills/career/passion, but I feel that I'm not very good at my job.