The Student Room Group

Dropping out and reapplying

Hey everyone,

I'm currently a student at Loughborough University studying Transport and Business Management. Last year I experienced doubts about my course, though I persuaded myself to stick to it into my second year. Over the past week or so I've really become extremely depressed regarding my course and I've been looking at doing Geography (a subject I've always enjoyed) at other universities.

To be clear, I have found the teaching at Loughborough excellent, and the uni itself is very good, though I feel a little isolated, despite making several friends for life here. I do not enjoy my course at all, so I feel transferring to a different university to do Geography would be much more fulfilling and hopefully lead to better prospects once I graduate.

So tonight, I started off my UCAS application (I know I've left it right until the last minute) and I've scheduled an interview with my tutor for tomorrow to discuss my decision. I have a few quick questions and I hope you guys wouldn't mind answering these for me if you can:

1) Does my current personal tutor at uni have to be my referee for my UCAS application?

2) Does this affect student finance in any way? Like, would I still be eligible to apply for student finance for my new course?

3) Can I still stay at university whilst the UCAS application is going through? Or would I have to drop-out.

By the way, I'm applying to Sussex, Edinburgh, Hull and Queen Mary to do Geography, do I need to contact these universities or just apply through UCAS as per?

Thanks for your help guys.

Shane