Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    hi

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by mysterieux26)
    Hi,

I am a IB year one student, and would like some help on my Extended Essay subject choices. Our school's pretty messed up at the moment, all the good teachers are leaving. I was originally going to do a Chem EE cuz of my awesome and very experienced IB Chem teacher, but she's leaving at the end of this year.

Therefore, my other choices are:

Biology:
    1. My current biology teacher, but he has no experience in Biology EEs. He supervised one essay- and that essay got a D. Maybe it's because that student didn't work hard, but I'm nonetheless worried.
    2. A random teacher assigned to me.

Chemistry:
    1. IB physics teacher (he's an IB person who wrote the physics textbook, and knows a little bit about chem. But still... he's a physics teacher)

Math:
    1. My teacher's pretty awesome but I'm 100% sure I'm not capable of it.

I'm not considering a language or psychology essay because I am struggling with the normal coursework already.

What do you think?? Thank you all for any help!
    Well, many people have done EEs under the supervision of an "odd" teacher. For example, someone wanted to do Philosophy and had their French teacher supervise since they emphasize philo in the french baccalaureate. I would worry more about picking a topic you are very interested in, that is easy to be innovative in, and were YOU have a good amount of expertise in (or great interest).

Also, small note: It is easier to achieve a higher grade in Language A1/History than the sciences/math. However, if you are not good in those subjects, I'd recommend picking a science. (& Math EEs are difficult for getting an A)

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by mysterieux26)
    Hi,