Turn on thread page Beta

Taking a Year Out of medical school before completion! - yay or nay? watch

ReputationRep:
    Okay this will be a long email but I am sooo confused and I would appreciate some advice.

Setting the Scene:
    I am a year 4 medical student at Imperial College London, currently doing my BSc in Management (which i enjoy greatly) and so have another two years before graduating as a doctor. I had a bad year in Year 1 - found it hard to settle in etc and had to resit 2 exams out of 5. I passed them well in the end and have been doing okay in year 2 and 3. But the truth is I am not happy with my progress, I feel like I have not reached my potential and instead there is a complicated web of conflicts/thoughts/problems from childhood that I feel are in the way.. At the end of Year 1, I spoke to my Tutor who recommended taking a year out.. ever since then I have been considering it but never actually went for it. Now I have decided for sure, that I want one definitely before I start Year 5. However..

...I have completed term one for Management. Exam week was last week and I don't think I did great. Chances of getting a first are zero I believe. Chances of getting a 2:1 are okay only if I do reallly well this term.... so my options are:

Option 1: Take a year out now. Come back in October 2010 to redo Management BSc

Option 2: Take a year out now and come back exactly the same time next year and start again where I left off.. (though I wouldnt do that if I have really rubbish marks)