Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi, I'm not very experienced at all in the headphone market so I was looking for some advice.

I've been wanting a pair of open back, circum-aural headphones for some time now and have read a few reviews and shortlisted the Sennheiser HD485's as they were very reasonably priced and seemed to be pretty highly recommended. However, my budget recently increased slightly so I'll be able to afford anything up to about £70 and I found that the Sennheiser HD555's could be bought for this price.

What I was wondering was, would it be worth it for me to spend the extra money (£80 compared to £50) and buy the 555's. I'll mainly be using the headphones for listening to music on my laptop, gaming on my laptop and also for practising the electrical guitar without annoying any next door neighbours. I listen to quite a wide range of music, mostly Metal but also some Dance and a some more chilled out Acoustic stuff. Which of the two headphones would be most useful for this sort of listening?

Of course I'm open to other recommendations, as long as the headphones don't exceed about £80, thanks in advance.

ReputationRep:
    HD485 are supposed to be more bassy than the 555. To be honest it will probably be worth reading on the head fi forums as youll likely get advice from people who have had both.

I think the general consensus is that the 555 are worth the extra. Also if you get the 485 you might get a case of upgraditis wonder what your missing and end up buying better ones in the near future anyway!

I have the HD555s they sound good but I dont really find them that comfortable to be honest a bit clampy on your head. Also the hd485 have a standard mini jack connection, whereas the 555s have a 1/4" which means you have to use a BIG adapter to plug it into a 1/8".

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Lapis lazuli)