The Student Room Group

Contract Law

Hi, I'm in my 1st year at uni and i'm studying contract law. I know poeple say that the 1st year doesn't count but it does for law students if they want to become solicitors or barristers. Although i'm not sure whether i want to take that route, i want to have the option and therefore i could do with getting at least a 2:1 in this module.

What i want to know is whether it will inhibit my chances of getting onto a training contract and then to become a solicitor if i don't achieve a 2:1 or even a 2:2 thanks.
(Unsurprisingly) the general rule is that the better your grades the better. I think you'd struggle to get a TC without a 2:1 overall. I don't think it matters too much if you get a 2:2 in a few individual modules as long as you get a 2:1 overall. Firms are going to look at your application as a whole - if you get a 2:1 overall, have a good range of ECs and interview well they aren't going to reject you on the basis of a single module mark.

If you don't get a 2:1 in your first year, its a disadvantage but I don't think it rules you out, particularly if you only missed out on the 2:1 by a fairly small margin. If that happens, you should work really hard in subsequent years and try to build up your CV through doing a variaty of extra-curriculars. People tend to get lower marks in their first year than they do in subsequent years - law is definitely a subject which takes a bit of time to get ued to studying.

If you are worried about Contract, try "Casebook on Contract" by Burrows. I really rate it.
Reply 2