Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hey guys,

I'm in my second year and I'm really bad in writing essay. In tests or presentation I get around 70% but my highest mark for an essay was 55%.
    Can anyone help me? How should the perfect essay look like and how do you get good grades?

ReputationRep:
    Be good at writing essays.

ReputationRep:
    http://www.rlf.org.uk/fellowshipsche...essayguide.cfm

^ Helpful but not as much as practice.

ReputationRep:
    Well not putting swear words in your essay is a good start.

ReputationRep:
    I've found that essays at university were basically referencing a bunch of writers from different readings and making it make sense .. a huge chunk of my essays are direct quotations along with explanations and relating them back to questions. I usually spend a lot of time reading relevant stuff and making notes and than putting it all together afterwards in a essay layout. I don't know if that will help you but its really helped me

ReputationRep:
    Always have a good introduction and conclusion, that link to the rest of your essay.

Make clear points, and support them with evidence, examples, quotations or references to other sources.

Be obsessive with spelling and grammar, and check and double check your referencing till you're blue in the face.

Be so knowledgeable about the topic in question that you could write several essays about it with different directions and conclusions.

Use a wide range of sources; start with an encyclopedia for an overview, then read a few books or chapters of books, plus some journals on specific aspects of the topic.

Aim to write more than the word count; if you go over, cut it back down, leaving the best bits.
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep:
    Community Assistant