Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I've decided that I want to become an H.E teacher, I've looked up the courses and know where I can apply to. The only problem is that I'm not sure my degree is suitable. Im doing a BSc Hons in Physiology, Sports Science and Nutrition. The entire Honours year is in Nutrition. Does anyone have any insight into this? Any idea? I'm only in first year, so I don't have to worry about it just yet, I'd just like to know if it's out of the picture.

ReputationRep:
    Does Home Economics exist as a subject anymore? It didn't in my secondary school...

The problem is that cookery and so on have been deemed a technology - Food Tech - which means it's all about designing products, drawing the packaging, and so on, and you can easily get through a GCSE without cooking more than a couple of actual meals, but having redesigned a particular cake 3 times! (I didn't do the GCSE, but this was my impression from the lower years, and my brother did GCSE and moaned about this kind of thing a lot). I think we could really do with replacing Food Tech with something more like Home Economics, so people learn to cook actual meals.

Maybe some schools do still do it, but I don't think many do - I've only ever heard of Home Economics in books, and from my mum, who was at school in the 70s.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Keziah)
    Does Home Economics exist as a subject anymore? It didn't in my secondary school...