Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I am trying hard in Y11 to upgrade my maths after not paying much attention for the previous years. so I studied a lot on 'mymaths'' and did 3 practice AQA papers at home and got A each time. But in my mock at school I got a C. gutted. :confused: 3 marks off a B, lost loads of marks on basic maths mistakes, and found the shape section hard.
    I feel disheartened at this point.
    So ... if I work like crazy can I get the A/A* I need, or do you think some people 'just cant get it' with maths?! :o:

ReputationRep:
    By basic mistakes do you mean number mistakes?

You need to work on your exam technique. Check your work at the end.

Practise doing shape questions too. You can post the quesitons in here if you like and people could explain it to you in different ways. Perhaps the way your teacher is teaching it isn't working for you?

I think at gcse level you should be able to get with some work .

ReputationRep:
    i reckon you can easily get an A/A*

get every single maths past paper you can find, if there aren't that many then go for other boards which cover similar stuff.

then literally do them all, mark them all, but be harsh. learn what the examiner wants you to write, if your answer isn't 100% correct, learn the right answer.

oh and after a couple of past papers you should have an idea of which areas you're really lacking. find the area in your textbook and do literally every single question.

and mistakes are usually down to just not doing enough questions.

ReputationRep:
    If you got an A in each of the practice papers as you said, but a C in the mock, then that suggests either the paper this year is especially tough, or the difference in environment has some kind of effect on you. Maybe you're being distracted by those around you...? I know I get that. :sad:

Of course, if you weren't timing yourself for the practice papers, that may have something to do with it. :p: