Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    HI IM NEW TO THIS... IM FINDING IT ALMOST NEAR IMPOSSIBLE TO FIND UNIS OR COLLEGES THAT OFFER THIS TYPE OF COURSE. IM LOOKING TO GO TO UNI THIS SEPTEMBER 2010 TO STUDY PSYCHOLOGY OR ENGLISH LITERATURE AND HAVEN'T GOT ANY A-LEVELS SO I'VE HEARD THAT THE ACCESS COURSE IS THE BEST WAY TO GO ABOUT THAT. THE PROBLEM IS IM LOOKING FOR A COURSE THAT LASTS 9 MONTHS OR POSSIBLY LESS SO THAT I WOULD BE ABLE TO STUDY AT DEGREE LEVEL IN SEPTEMBER. I'VE HAD A ROUGH COUPLE OF YEARS AND A-LEVELS JUST WEREN'T FOR ME. MY FRIENDS ARE ALREADY IN UNI AS WELL I DON'T WANT TO BE 2 YEARS BEHIND. I HOPE YOU CAN HELP ME!

FROM A DESPERATE GAL!
    /

ReputationRep:
    I'm sorry but I don't think that this is feasible. Firstly the application process for colleges itself can take a couple of months minimum, I applied to colleges for access courses last year around November and I'm just hearing back from them now. Often you apply, take an assessment, wait for that to be marked, then if you pass are called for an interview, and then after this you may be able to enrol, provided you can pay fees and cross the t's, dot the i's.

Also if you would have wanted to go to uni in September you would have needed to apply via UCAS well by now to give yourself the best chance of getting replies. The problem is you cant really rely on clearing to get you into uni because they don't always have time to consider students with alternative qualifications.

All I can suggest is you have a rethink, maybe consider applying to do an access course that finishes in June next year which would entail you going to uni next year instead.

I'd advise you not to worry so much also, with something like this it is better to take your time and do things properly rather than rush towards an unrealistic goal.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by L'eminence gris)