Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    OK, so an opportunity has arisen, and I need some advice about what I should do about it.
    I'm currently a first year English student at University, and now have the chance to go to America to do the second semester of my second year.
    This is all brilliant, it's exactly what I wanted, BUT it's a lot, a LOT of money - like probably approaching £9,000.
    I would happily work my absolute a*** off to earn the money, but first I want to know what you guys think about it. Is it really worth it? Is studying abroad useful/good/hard/pointless? Especially in the field of English - realistically is it going to increase my employability?

Any help would be much appreciated

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by *LittleGem*)
    OK, so an opportunity has arisen, and I need some advice about what I should do about it.
    I'm currently a first year English student at University, and now have the chance to go to America to do the second semester of my second year.
    This is all brilliant, it's exactly what I wanted, BUT it's a lot, a LOT of money - like probably approaching £9,000.
    I would happily work my absolute a*** off to earn the money, but first I want to know what you guys think about it. Is it really worth it? Is studying abroad useful/good/hard/pointless? Especially in the field of English - realistically is it going to increase my employability?

Any help would be much appreciated
    Hello,

Firstly, I apoligise that this information is aimed/geared more towards modern foreign languages but that's the field I know best. I'm sure most of it is applicable to you also!

Secondly, there's ways you can raise the money. Working, as you say, is the best way but you can also try for sponsorship, sell things, hold events to raise money, ask for donations.