Turn on thread page Beta

Starting Degree again, not as easy as I thought...... watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi All,
    I'm a first year undergrad at University of Liverpool studying Business and Italian.
    I chose Business because well, having worked the last 12 years for various companies, I thought that it would prove useful to bring my own experience into a business degree and also learn more about the infrastructure of an organisation. Upto now, i'm doing really well in the Business. I got 78% for my first essay and 68% for my group essay - my exam is next week. For accounting, i got 42% for my first exam and completed 2nd exam yesterday. I found the accounting pretty hard because im not mathematically minded and it was the ratio's that through me..... Anyway, it's a learning curve so I didn't beat myself up about it.

I chose Italian because:
    1. I've been to Italy 3 times in the last 12 months and love the place.
    2. I've always wanted to speak a fluent language and Italian is a beautiful language
    I had no previous experience in Italian - ok, I could speak a little like introducing people, asking where a place is, ordering food, introducing myself, where i am from etc etc - all learnt through when i visited Italy and reading a basic language guide. I was accepted by the language department on the basis that I am a mature student who is dedicated, and how I have visited Italy a few times recently and was enthusiastic to learn.

Usually, the language department don't accept students at degree level unless they have an a-level language already (in any language).