Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hello,

Just a few questions about Oxford so I would like to hear some opinions from anyone for any question asked - Sorry it's long!! :eek3: I have often read these forums for a while now but never got round to starting threads or replying..

I am thinking about applying to Oxford and I am currently in year 12, in a state school. I would apply for Biological Sciences.

My GCSE's were: A*A*AAAAAABBB. First question: I think they are probably below average for an Oxbridge student? :confused:

I am currently studying 5 AS courses which are: Maths, Physics, Biology, Geography and Critical Thinking. I am predicted: Maths A, Physics B/A, Biology A, Geography A, Critical Thinking B. Hopefully meaning I will send up with AS results of AAAAB or at worst AAABB. I Would drop Geography and hopefully end up with AAA, excluding CT. Next Question: are these results good enough to secure an interview with a decent application sent too? I heard that originating from a state school with the same grades as someone from a public school affects your chances and that they even prefer people from state school because they may have worked slightly harder to have received the same results?

With the new A*'s coming in place, will this affect Oxford's choice of students much? I will probably not get any A*'s so is that putting me at a disadvantage? (That was the third question!)

Has anyone here taken an interview, especially for a tutor(s) in Biology - do they expect you to know knowledge above A2 level Biology? I am currently reading magazines like Biological Science Review to help with my keen interest in Ecology which would hopefully help my performance if I got an interview. I know it's early to be thinking about interviews, but if they expect a much wider breadth of knowledge than the average student then I better get reading! :p: