Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Family or uni first? Quite urgent... watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    ...or urgent to me anyway.

I'm a first year student, and chose my two main subjects, followed by French, my elective(third subject). It has been a lot of work obviously, as any courses would be, but I'm starting to think taking French was a lot more work than perhaps another subject would have been, although I understand a certain standard is required for every course. Anyway the point is...

Over the past 6 months or so, both of my grandparents health began detirorating. Both of them have never really got sick, but I'd never seen them like this and was extremely worried. Just more recently they have improved more, which I'm v glad about but they are more visibly fragile and not fully recovered either. Recently, the family decided to organise a birthday celebration for my Grandad, and he was given the choice of where to go abroad - he chose Paris I now know for sure this was because I'm taking French and he thought I would benefit! Meanwhile I was asked if I'd be able to get the time off during said dates (looking at my calendar, I knew I had no exams til May/June, so agreed), but just one day after it was booked I discover I now have a French test on the day of my Grandad's birthday(when we'd be away). I would have had this information a week sooner if the dpt hadn't messed things up but this is another story...