Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I'm currently studying a Masters of Finance and I am trying to decide among two internship offers:

1. UBS summer internship
    2. Goldman Sachs 12-month internship

Both are in equity research but unfortunately I don't know in which particular team.

I know that Goldman is broadly more reputable than UBS, but does anyone know how do their equity research departments compare?

Also, there is a decent chance of getting converted after a summer internship, but does anyone know whether this is also possible after a 12-month one?

ReputationRep:
    Never knew GS offered 12 month placements in anything other than Ops or Tech..? Surely a 12 months placement in a FO position is essentially just a job?! Im using the word placement, because i dont think you could call a 12 month stint an internship?!

Id take Goldman over UBS in any other situation but it depends on what you have planned for the next 12 months of your life. UBS are traditionally very strong in Equities with GS stronger on the FICC side so you have to weigh up that issue aswell.

As for conversion chances, from speaking to a friend who did 12 months in GS AM Ops in Zurich, you dont get converted straight away unless you're unbelievably talented and normally requires you to reapply for entry level grad positions. But theres no doubt a year in GS ER would look very impressive on the old CV and stand you in good stead.

ReputationRep:
    10000000% Goldman.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by JakeF)
    As for conversion chances, from speaking to a friend who did 12 months in GS AM Ops in Zurich, you dont get converted straight away unless you're unbelievably talented and normally requires you to reapply for entry level grad positions. But theres no doubt a year in GS ER would look very impressive on the old CV and stand you in good stead.
    I'm not... so that is a major issue. At least with UBS I know that if I work hard I stand a good chance.