Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I'm thinking about teaching myself English Literature. I'm a university student in a non-English speaking country and throughout my life, I have not been educated enough in languages or literature, which kind of contradicts my passion for writing. I went to a very reputable public high school, in a special program where they integrated the curriculum with A Levels but it did not cater to the students the way the program should have been. There was far too great of an emphasis in Mathematics and the Sciences. I could've said that my secondary education was completely pointless despite my school's academic reputation.

I'm a psychology major now, and I love it. But I also love writing and I'm aiming on being a musician and I've noticed how a lot of musicians who are accomplished at lyric writing are passionate about literature as well: they're great writers and read a lot. I'm not going to do this for a degree or qualification, just to expand my knowledge and skills. I'm wondering if anyone can help me in terms of resources that are commonly used in teaching secondary level literature in the UK. Inputs from other English-speaking locations are great too.

ReputationRep: