Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    It is quite a difficult school to get into and they are picky in which subjects they allow you to take.. for example normally you need at least an A to take a subject at HL

I am in my first year of IB and I really want to change from maths studies to Maths SL. I achieved an A in my gcse only a few marks away from an A* however they insist I do studies

I originally wanted to do SL but they didn't allow me, I asked again a week before school started and when they tested me to decide it was after the summer, around 4 months of literally no studying... of course I didn't do my best.

I am achieving 6's in maths studies however I am so demotivated.. I hate re-learning what I have already done in GCSE and my teacher is so bad and can barely speak english. I do no work in maths outside of the lesson and i still get a 6. I also take higher chem, bio and english and are easily achieving 6's in them.

I want to study science at uni and maths standard will be helpful... what should I do? It is so frustrating relearning such simple maths.. I actually feel I'm becoming stupider. However I have left it late? How difficult is maths SL compared to studies? Will I be able to handle it if I got A in my gcse?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by francescafrancesca)
    It is quite a difficult school to get into and they are picky in which subjects they allow you to take.. for example normally you need at least an A to take a subject at HL

I am in my first year of IB and I really want to change from maths studies to Maths SL. I achieved an A in my gcse only a few marks away from an A* however they insist I do studies

I originally wanted to do SL but they didn't allow me, I asked again a week before school started and when they tested me to decide it was after the summer, around 4 months of literally no studying... of course I didn't do my best.