Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi,
    I'm hoping to apply for GEP medicine in 2011 - Currently I work as an occupational therapist, and i reckon i have a good chance at it - if I get through the whole UKCAT bit.
    In practicing, i'm fine at all areas except QR, which I just go to bits on - I did great in GCSE maths, but this is very different! Any tips or advice - Seriously worried now...??

Rach

ReputationRep:
    Most people find QR especially hard.

I found the actual maths to be easier than any of the practice i'd done, especially the downlaodable thing on the UKCAT website.

Don't put pressure on yourself, the test has to be difficult to be able to distinguish candidates, but i'm sure you'll be fine.

ReputationRep:
    Keep practising, and remember most people don't finish QR, so work as quickly as you can and guess the rest. Do as much practice as you can and if you see a long question, skip it. btw you are allowed a basic calculator.. I didn't realise for ages :o:

Good Luck

ReputationRep:

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Rach1900)
    Hi,
    I'm hoping to apply for GEP medicine in 2011 - Currently I work as an occupational therapist, and i reckon i have a good chance at it - if I get through the whole UKCAT bit.
    In practicing, i'm fine at all areas except QR, which I just go to bits on - I did great in GCSE maths, but this is very different! Any tips or advice - Seriously worried now...??

Rach
    What book are you using?

ReputationRep:
    The 600Q book is good, keep practicing :yep:

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Rach1900)
    Hi,

Rach
    Ha I panicked during the QR, only managed to answer a quarter of the questions without guessing and promptly left the room. The only time I actually knew I had failed an exam halfway through. It was basically through lack of preparation, find a practice course for it as well, I found those really helpful for the BMAT

ReputationRep:
    Bit early, is it not?