Turn on thread page Beta

TSR, how can I make 'nerdy/gamer' friends in real life? watch

Announcements

The situation is this. I'm relatively new to the whole scene of anime, gaming and graphic novels. I never used to be into this sort of thing until about 1 year ago.

I used to be a bit of a wild child, having parties with my housemates every other night, getting drunk and, well, you know the rest.... I think it's all out of my system now. Now, I'm pretty much the opposite, and am finding I have less and less in common with my current friends.

I don't want to turn into one of those people who cuts themselves off from society and spends all their time online. I want to meet people who share my interests. I want to do some cosplay and LARP before I'm too old. Yeah, I know TSR is teeming with people like this, but I want to talk to people in real life. It's so annoying that I have to go on the internet to discuss my interests with people, rather than talk to my friends about it.

I assume that people are like me, and actually go out, but where to they hang out? How can I talk to them? It's all very well striking up a conversation with someone by the anime section in HMV (I've done this a few times), but how do I move things further?

ReputationRep:
    Keep your online life and normal life separate. Make friends online, but don't forget your friends off. Just ask around at parties and stuff. I'm sure thers loads of people who like games and anime

PS I love playing games ;P

ReputationRep:
    Cut out the anime and graphic novels. Become t3h 1337 gam3z0r!!!!

ReputationRep:
    ask around friends at school, i'm sure plenty of people like the same sort of stuff.

failing that study something like computer science at uni

ReputationRep:
    Start up a WoW, amine, etc society in school, college, uni.

Some kids may laugh (ignore these idiots) but you'll find people you are looking for.

:dontknow:

ReputationRep: