Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hey everyone,

Ive got an interview on the 17th February for PGCE Aberystwyth University and I am so so nervous!! If I'm honest, I have no idead what to expect. I realise that this is probably my only shot to get in to a course this year because by the time I get the decision, my next choice will more than likely be full.

Has anyone had an pgce interview here and could tell me what its like? Theyve said that interview questions will be designed to assess my suitability as a teacher and will explore my subject knowledge, knowledge of the curriculum and educational system as well as my interpersonal skills. Unless the nerves get the better of me, I'd say my interpersonal skills will be ok- its the other two I am apprehensive about. I finished my degree about 2 and a half years ago so I know I will have to really brush up on this but my knowledge of the curriculum and educational system is zero! can anyone help me? even point me in the right direction as to where I can find out about any changes there have been?!

Im so sorry this is like an essay but any help or tips anyone could give me will be much much appreciated!!

Thank you!!!

ReputationRep:
    Have they given you any information about what to expect at the interview? Some places ask you to do a presentation.

I've got an interview at Oxford tomorrow, and they told me roughly what the interview will involve (though I still feel really unprepared as to what questions they're actually going to ask!)

Apparently when I first get there I'll be given an example of a pupil's work to read, to discuss in the interview.
    There'll also be a group decision-making task which I read on here involves looking at a number of different sources on a topic, and discussing which one we would use as a starter task for a lesson. So that's a major part for them assessing your interpersonal skills.