Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hello folks!

I am a journalist from India and need some urgent help and advice. I am thinking of applying for the taught master's degree in Anthropology at Sussex. I liked the course content as it is exhaustive and there is an extra emphasis on development issues which is exactly what I am looking for.

However, I can see that Sussex fares badly at most University league tables and the anthropology department was ranked 12 in the recent Guardian survey.

Can someone please tell me if Sussex is a good place to go for a PG in Anthro. If there are students from the current anthro batch around, please guide me...

Thanks,
    Vidya.

ReputationRep:
    Well, Sussex is ranked above Manchester on Guardian's website (for Anthropology).

Why Sussex anyway?

ReputationRep:
    "We are one of the largest Departments of socio-cultural anthropology in the UK, and were ranked 5th among socio-cultural anthropology Departments in the 2008 Research Assessment Exercise."

I'm doing BA Anthropology I love the course. Enthusiastic lecturers, interesting course content, great support and structure. From what I understand, the Anthropology department here is well respected and amongst the best in the country. I wouldn't form your opinion based on the Guardian survey!

ReputationRep: