Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

How to access removable drive through network? watch

ReputationRep:
    Is this even possible? Can I access a memory stick that is connected to a different computer but in the same homegroup/network? The only way right now seems to be through remote desktop, but is there a more direct and convenient way?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by pimpman777)
    Is this even possible? Can I access a memory stick that is connected to a different computer but in the same homegroup/network? The only way right now seems to be through remote desktop, but is there a more direct and convenient way?
    Heya mate. You'll be glad to know it's nice an simple - I use this method all the time at work (granted, I'm a sys admin on a domain so it's even easier for me), but here it is:

Open up My Computer, and in the address bar type

Code:
    \\name of pc\driver letter$
    and hit enter. For example \\pimpman777-pc\g$

Now, if it asks for a user name and password give it the credentials of an administrator account. For the user name use this format:

Code:
    name of pc\user name
    For example: pimpman777-pc\pimpman777

You password, if any, should be entered as normal.

This should give you access to the drive over the network. This method will work with any PC to any drive over a given network, so long as you have the admin credentials to log on to the host PC.

If you wish to make a more permanent solution, for example, to a drive where the letter doesn't change, you can map the network drive. This will make it appear as a normal hard drive on your PC.

If you're using XP, go to My Computer, and hit Tools, then Map Network Drive. If Vista/Win7, simply open My Computer, and hit Map Network Drive.