Maths HL 6
    Geo hl 6
    Eng HL 6 (1 mark off 7)
    German b sl 6
    spanish a1 sl 6
    chemistry sl 5
    bonus 3

total 38
    applied to E&M at Oxford in the year I took the exams, got an interview (74 % at TSA), but could't attend one (illness) -> rejected.

The question is: is it worth retaking my maths hl exam in the oncoming may 10 session, and then apply to oxford?. Please be 100% frank with me, I just want to know how does it look like from the perspective of those who are now at Oxford or those who hold an offer.

Thanks.

ReputationRep:
    oh btw: my extenuating circumstance would be that I self-taught maths hl . Don't know if it matters, but...

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by bubububu)
    oh btw: my extenuating circumstance would be that I self-taught maths hl . Don't know if it matters, but...
    That's not an extenuating circumstance in my opinion.

ReputationRep:
    I think it is because the school didn't provide a maths hl teacher. You know - if you want to study economics at a good uni, then maths sl is probably not sufficient.

ReputationRep:
    Getting into E&M with 38 is a stretch, as they require 38-40 and E&M is one of the more competetive subjects, so I think it's most likely not because of the missed interview that you got rejected. If you're serious about going to Oxford, retake it. Maths is really important for E&M. If you're gonna be studying anyway, also do English as you were only one point off, that would make your total 40, which would make you a better candidate in their eyes. But again, think about how badly you want Oxford and not another uni, which can also be good.

ReputationRep:
    You'll have to ask them first if they accept resits. I know they don't for med, might be different for EM, but EM is even more oversubscribed.