Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

AMerican studies & English- Joint or Single Degree watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hi I've got into Sussex with an unconditional offer in American Studies and English joint degree or American studies degree by itself. I was wondering two things: Firstly which one do people think would be a better degree? Secondly, would it be possible if i took the joint degree to drop the English side if i found it too challenging? I achieved an A in English but im still not happy with my ability and am worried degree level would be too hard for me. Thanks for your help.

ReputationRep:
    I'm in my 2nd year and I know some people who dropped their joint degree during their first year or at the start of their 2nd, as well as people who picked up a joint one instead! Personally, I totally changed my degree and went into 2nd year studying totally different subject...........I think Sussex is flexible, but obviously I can't give you 100% on this as everyone has different circumstances. Can't comment on what would be considered a 'better' degree, but if you didn't know already, be aware that if you're taking a single degree (so just the American Studies) you have to take elective classes (which could be an English course, or something totally different) alongside your degree anyway.

ReputationRep:
    i agree that sussex is flexible about this kind of thing, especially if you're swapping between departments of the same school in my experience (couple of my friends switched from philosophy to history and it was really easy to do). i can't say i know much about english lit as a degree but i do an elective in american studies and have been doing it for two years so i know a bit about that-