Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    My offer from Robinson College for Land Economy states three conditions:

- Get 40 points at IB (7/6/6 at HL)
    - Prove that i can pay for the whole course
    - Get a score of 7.0 or above in the IELTS

The IELTS is an exam for non-native speakers to test their English proficiency. I wonder why I'm being asked this because:

-I'm fluent
    -It's my first (and only) language
    -I have attended English-medium schools all my life
    -I got A* in both English Language and English Literature at GCSE
    -I'm doing A1 English HL for IB (predicted 7)

Has anyone else got the IELTS component in their offers?Could it be because I'm an international student? (Nationality: Indian). Should I contact Cambridge about it?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by rm1234)
    My offer from Robinson College for Land Economy states three conditions:

- Get 40 points at IB (7/6/6 at HL)
    - Prove that i can pay for the whole course
    - Get a score of 7.0 or above in the IELTS

The IELTS is an exam for non-native speakers to test their English proficiency. I wonder why I'm being asked this because:

-I'm fluent
    -It's my first (and only) language
    -I have attended English-medium schools all my life
    -I got A* in both English Language and English Literature at GCSE
    -I'm doing A1 English HL for IB (predicted 7)

Has anyone else got the IELTS component in their offers?Could it be because I'm an international student? (Nationality: Indian). Should I contact Cambridge about it?
    Pretty sure it's common for all UK universities to ask international students (from Asia at least, I'm not sure about the US) to sit for the IELTS.

ReputationRep:
    don't worry about it..
    all UK universities ask international students to take the IELTS...
    it doesn't matter if you did IB or any other syllabus..
    good luck!!

ReputationRep: