The Student Room Group

Ludovico Einaudi grade standard?

Hi, I don't suppose anybody has an idea of what grade standard Ludovico Einaudi's music would be on the piano, especially I Giorni? If anybody could help I'd be grateful :smile:

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
I think once you get to his level, grades are pretty much irrelevant. He is clearly at the top of any recognised achievements. But he has probably self taught himself way above a level that is graded.
Reply 2
Really? I'd always thought that the music that he's written that you can buy as sheet music is relatively easy, I know somebody who's only (not only as in it's bad, just it's not that far along) learning grade three and they're doing his pieces... :confused:
I'd say his music is about Grade 5 to 6 standard.
Le Onde was passed as acceptable to play for Advanced Higher by the SQA. For AH it needs to be at least Grade 5.
Reply 5
I would disagree, labelling it more grade 4 standard instead, depending on which piece you choose. It involves lots of very repetitive technique (arpeggiated accompaniment etc), so once you are OK with that, you are pretty much sorted for the rest of his music. I giorni has exactly that in, with no particularly difficult (if any - it's been a while!) jumps. Which other pieces were you thinking?

EDIT Come to think of it, there are some of his pieces I might put up at the top end of grade 5, but most are simpler than that.
Reply 6
olipal
I would disagree, labelling it more grade 4 standard instead, depending on which piece you choose. It involves lots of very repetitive technique (arpeggiated accompaniment etc), so once you are OK with that, you are pretty much sorted for the rest of his music. I giorni has exactly that in, with no particularly difficult (if any - it's been a while!) jumps. Which other pieces were you thinking?

EDIT Come to think of it, there are some of his pieces I might put up at the top end of grade 5, but most are simpler than that.